Page extent: 82
ISBN: 9781783191314
Binding: PaperBack

The Seven Pomegranate Seeds

Colin Teevan


The Seven Pomegranate Seeds are seven contemporary monologues for female speakers, thematically linked and with powerful mythical origins.  Loosely based on seven of Euripides’ female characters - Medea, Phedra, Demeter, Persephone, Hypsipyle, Creusa and Alcestis - these monologues explore classical mother and child stories in the context of modern Britain. With the tale of an abducted child echoing throughout and reflecting cases such as the Moors Murders, Madeline McCann and Louise Woodward, these individual monologues come together in a compelling conclusion. 

Originally commissioned by the Onassis Foundation and performed for their inaugural event in Oxford by Claire Higgins, this volume is published to coincide with Teevan’s professorial inaugural lecture on June 11 2014, at Birkbeck, University of London and is accompanied by his short introductory lecture.

Click to watch The Seven Pomegranate Seeds in a rehearsed reading at Birkbeck, as part of Colin Teevan's Inaugural Lecture

Additional Information

ISBN13 9781783191314
Binding PaperBack
Page Extent 82