Page extent: 320
ISBN: 9781840020984
Binding: PaperBack

Howarth: Four Plays

Donald Howarth

PaperBack (02 Jun 2000)

Includes the plays Sugar in the Morning, A Lily in Little India, All Good Children, Three Months Gone

With an introduction by Sir Ian McKellen. Includes the first publication of Sugar in the Morning, performed in 1959 at the Royal Court Theatre. The others in this collection form a trilogy that rail against the conservative austerity and claustrophobia of the post-war years. They recommend self-mockery and celebrate the liberating influence of flower power, the permissive society and the rise of the more ‘feminine’ man. The trilogy enjoyed high-profile performances in the West End from Sir Ian McKellen, Jill Bennett and the late Diana Dors.

Additional Information

ISBN13 9781840020984
Binding PaperBack
Page Extent 320