Page extent: 286
ISBN: 9781849430371
Binding: PaperBack

The Dreyfus Affair

George R. Whyte, George R. Whyte

PaperBack (01 Jan 2011)

In 1894, Captain Alfred Dreyfus, an innocent Jewish Officer in the French Army, was convicted on false evidence for a crime of high treason. He was stripped of his rank, publicly degraded and deported to the penal colony of Devil's Island to serve a sentence of life imprisonment in total isolation and under inhumane conditions. The fight to prove his innocence was to last 12 years.
This trilogy of plays are a dramatic adaptation of this episode in 19th century European history. Also includes an introduction, a chronology of the Dreyfus Affair and an epilogue by the author, My Burning Protest by George Whyte after Emile Zola. The Dreyfus trilogy includes the dramatisations The Dreyfus Affair (premiered at the Deutsche Oper Berlin, 8 May 1994), Dreyfus - J'Accuse (premiered at the Oper der Stadt Bonn, 8 September 1999) and Rage and Outrage (premiered by Franco/German TV Channel Arte 18 May 1995).

Additional Information

ISBN13 9781849430371
Binding PaperBack
Page Extent 286


"An excellent example of how drama can bring alive history. This volume is an important read, and would benefit students of history as well as drama.” – Ink Pellet