Stewart Conn

Stewart Conn was born in Hillhead, Glasgow, in 1936, and brought up in Ayrshire. His plays include The King (Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh), Diehard (Netherbow Theatre, Edinburgh), The Aquarium, The Burning, Play Donkey, Herman and Clay Bull (Royal Lyceum Theatre, Edinburgh). Television includes Wally Dugs Go in Pairs, The Kite and Bloodhunt. He was Head of Radio Drama for BBC Scotland from 1977 until 1992. Stewart Conn is also an acclaimed poet, and was Edinburgh’s inaugural Makar (Poet Laureate) from 2002-2005. His poetry collections include Estuary, The Loving Cup, The Breakfast Room, Ghosts at Cockrow, In the Kibble Palace, Under the Ice and The Luncheon of the Boating Party. He received the 2011 SMIT Poetry Book of the Year Award, and won the inaugural Institute of Contemporary Scotland's Iain Crichton Smith Award for services to literature.

Books by this author